Unpaid Overtime Attorneys
The general rule in California is that “nonexempt” employees are entitled to 1.5 times the hourly rate for time worked in excess of 40 hours per week OR eight hours per day. Employers also have to pay two times the hourly rate for time worked in excess of 12 hours per day. Slightly different rules apply in Nevada. In Nevada, “nonexempt” employees are entitled to 1.5 times the hourly rate for time worked in excess of 40 hours per week.
However, some employers fail to provide overtime pay. Some are simply ignorant of the law, while others willfully refuse to pay overtime. Out-of-state employers may calculate pay based on federal overtime laws rather than California laws. Employers who pay employees on the 15th and 30th day of the month can unwittingly violate overtime laws when a 40-hour workweek straddles two pay periods.
Have You Been Denied Overtime Pay?
In California, you may be eligible for additional pay if:
- You work more than 40 hours a week or more than eight hours per day
- You are misclassified as an “exempt” employee or independent contractor when your job duties indicate that you are really a “nonexempt” employee
- You are forced to work through meal or rest breaks
- Your employer does not pay you for preparation or cleanup time
Federal and state laws governing wage and hour claims are complex, and even some “nonexempt” employees are not eligible for overtime pay.
At Watkins & Letofsky, LLP, we thoroughly review the facts in every case. If we believe that your case has merit, we will represent you on contingency, meaning that you will owe an attorney fee only if we obtain compensation.
You can assist us by bringing pay stubs, time sheets and other documents to your free consultation.
Compensation For Unpaid Overtime
If successful, you may be able to obtain:
- Pay for all overtime due
- Additional damages under federal or California law
- Attorney fees and litigation costs
The overtime lawyers at Watkins & Letofsky, LLP, will work tirelessly to obtain results for you.